“Some Keep the Sabbath Going to Church”

I grew up as a bit of a “church hopper.” While I lived in Papua New Guinea, my family attended a church which was made up of missionaries from multiple denominations. We didn’t have a single pastor, but instead, missionaries and pastors from around the globe and across the spectrum of protestant Christianity took turns speaking in church.

Every four years, when my family visited America, we went from state to state and church to church to show people our work in Papua New Guinea. I’m still not sure if I ever attended the same American church for more than a few months at a time.

When it comes to worship, I’ve experienced everything from a cappella choirs to rock; reverently standing tall with hymnals and humbly face down on the floor. Some of my favorite times of worship are done in silence beneath a tree. In that sense, I think Emily Dickinson and I would get along nicely in her garden church. With the birds as the choir and the orchard for the dome.

But church is more than a place, and worship is more than a song.

A while back, I was reading the book, Celebration of Discipline by Richard J. Foster. In it, Foster talks about what it means to worship God beyond the Sunday morning experience. While talking with some friends about worship, I realized just how much worship becomes a dividing factor among the Body of Christ.

I love the congregation that I attend now. But I want to worship with other limbs of the Body. I want to be in fellowship with others outside my small gathering. And I want to experience worship the way others worship our God.

And so I, and two others, sought out some other limbs of God. This Sunday, we visited the Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Cathedral in Charlotte. It was my first time to a Greek Orthodox service (called a Divine Liturgy, which took me about a week to figure out) and I was a little nervous about not knowing what to do. Thankfully having friends with me made it easier to laugh at myself when I walked into the kitchen instead of the sanctuary. And when I had to ask what I was supposed to do before being told, “you can have a seat.” And when I tried to say the Lord’s prayer with them, and didn’t realize that they say a shorter version than I do. And when I was smiling like a pumpkin at the priest as he sang the prayers and the scriptures and the general instructions. (I want to start singing “let us be attentive” to my students).

I wish I could have captured more of the symbols on the church building, but I was already feeling like a discourteous tourist.

I wish I could have captured more of the symbols on the church building, but I was already feeling like a discourteous tourist. Seeing the Chi-Rho always makes me happy.

The whole experience was a lot to take in. What struck me most was seeing people come before God in a very touching way. I love the human closeness that my church gives to God. It reminds me that Jesus calls us “Friends” (John 15:15). But what I loved most about the Greek Orthodox Church was how they reminded me that he is the King of the Universe, too.

In the Bible, when people are given the amazing privilege of seeing God, they either pass out, or fall shaking on their faces. I sometimes forget that, and treat coming before Him as casual as a hanging out with my buddy. But through the rituals of the Greek Orthodox Church, they create a sense of reverence, awe, and divine righteousness.

I was honored to share a pew with the people at the Holy Trinity.

Leave a Reply

INSTA.RAMS

Here we get lit for literature.

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

