A New Kind of Culture Shock

Those of you who travel outside of the country know what cross culture experiences are like. Being in a foreign land means struggling to communicate, starring down strange food on your plate, and learning new social customs. It’s one of the most thrilling parts about being overseas. It’s what I miss when I’m stuck in a country where everyone dresses, acts, eats like me. Fortunately, I’m not trapped in a monotone culture.

One7 Academy creates a culture all its own. It’s not American, even though it is run by Americans. It’s not Vietnamese, even though we have many Montagnard students. It’s not African or Latino either. Stepping into the building means leaving America as I know it and entering a new world created at the meeting ground of many cultures.

In any given day I might get laughed at because the word “sleet” sounds like the Jari word for “underpants;” or get dared to eat Takis chips (a spicy Latino treat) with Srirachas sauce (Asian hot sauce); or be reminded that praying together means hugging each other (holding hands is “weak sauce”).

Takis and Sriracha

“It’s not hot, Ms. Jacki. The Sriracha cools the chip down,” Tri says as she fans her mouth.

While I teach the students math and American English, they teach me pieces of their own languages and culture. I’ve learned a Somali idiom about growing a tail (standing around when you could be sitting). I’ve learned the common Montagnard way for helping a cold. I’ve tried learning words in more than one tribal language, but my tongue can’t bend that way.

It’s a great and humbling thing to be surrounded by so many different cultures. America calls itself a melting pot, but I’ve never seen so much melting as I do at One7. Melting is more than just standing beside each other and acknowledging the other’s existence. It’s more than living in the same city or shopping in the same grocery store. The kind of melting that goes on at One7 is hot enough to melt down emotional barriers. It breaks down the language barriers and the fear of the unknown. It molds us into something new.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eagleswings247
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 02:14:44

    Love this!! And, in so many ways I can relate! And, I agree with your point-of-view on the whole melting pot thing. Also, I got introduced to Takis when I lived and worked as a teacher in Mexico (2006-2007). Then, they came back into my life when I began working at an inner city charter school in 2008-2012. They aren’t my favorite by any means, but I have tried them! šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

