God Colors in Tri

Meet Tri.

IMG_0119

This is how Tri studies feet.

Tri is my little sister from another continent.

Tri is my spiritual mentor.

Tri is a preacher. Her life story speaks volumes for overcoming the trials of living in a fallen world and the power of God to transform lives. She demonstrates a joy that transcends sorrowful circumstances. And if that wasn’t enough, God gave her a pastor’s tongue that speaks through language barriers to deliver messages of transformative encouragement.

Here, Tri's speaking at our first One7 Academy end of year ceremony.

Here, Tri’s speaking at our first One7 Academy end of year ceremony.

I first met her four years into America. I was helping One7 Ministries set up One7 Academy, and she was to be my first student.

Through the short years I’ve known her, I have been privileged to see God transform her and use her to reveal His glory. I treasure this letter she gave me during our first year of school together. The message captures her heart, and is embodied in the language of a displaced refugee.

Tri's Letter exerpt

In the classroom, Her fun-loving bubbliness invigorated everyone. Her compassion was a counseling force. And in those moments when she was feeling downtrodden or distraught, the whole class felt the weight of mourning.

Fortunately, she was a lot more bubbly then melancholy.

Fortunately, she was a lot more bubbly than melancholy.

Now, God has set Tri up to be a leader among the other displaced refugees finding their way in east Charlotte. They’re lost, confused, and many of them live in fear. It’s hard for someone like me to know how to comfort them. But God has set up Tri as a sympathizer that knows their pain. She sits down with those who are hurting and shares words of wisdom that she’s learned from her experiences.

I count myself lucky to know her and always look forward to hearing what she has to say. Here are a few of my favorites:

“This is not home for me. Heaven is home for me. And I know that He holds me in His arms.”

“I can’t change people’s life only God can do that. All I can do is pray.”

“People who are shy now speak, and people who walked alone now are surrounded by people, and people who hate now know how to love.” (speaking about the people involved in One7 Ministries who’ve been transformed by God’s love)

“Our God is a rich god. He can have whatever He wants.”

Tri embodies 1 Timothy 4:12:

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

Tri sets an example for me to follow. I may have taught her a few things in class, but by the end of the year, she had taught me so much more!

Leave a Reply

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

