Photo Challenge: Future Tense

spring

These photo challenges are very philosophical. I can’t seem to participate in one without contemplating life.

The future is something I’ve been thinking and reading a lot about, lately. Seasons are shifting outside and I’m stuck in a strange turning point, myself. It’s that phase of in-between-ness. A lot like spring. I’m neither here nor there. I have every possibility in my future–every direction to go in–but no clue which path to take. And that’s okay. Right now, I’m living in the present. Not the YOLO type of present or the Carpe Diem type of present. No. I’m living in the present “which touches eternity” as C.S. Lewis put it.

My life is in the present, but what I do in it, I do for the Eternal and with eternity inside of me.

C.S. Lewis went on to say that we should not invest our hearts in the future. As Jesus put it, “Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.”

These plants are budding now, but if another hard frost comes, that may all die off. Spring can be stolen. Heck,  in North Carolina, spring can be skipped. Summer is way too excitable.

Crabapple bloom

These leaves are totally ready for 100 degree weather and lightening storms… and fireflies. We need fireflies.

But I don’t do away entirely with the future. Kierkegaard says that the future holds our hope. Our hope that God will sustain us; that our lives will be meaningful; that one day, in His timing, Christ is coming back–like a groom or a thief in the night, or a prince or a slaughtered lamb.

So I live in the present, concerning myself with what’s in front of me. And I touch eternity, carrying an everlasting spirit inside me. And my only business with the future is to hope and to hope in love because “If there were no love, hope would not exist, either; it would be like a letter waiting to be picked up. If there were no love, hope would be like a letter with blessed contents, to be sure, but with no one to collect it.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/weekly-photo-challenge-future-tense/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense – The ‘Future Tense’ Of Death | Just another wake-up call

Leave a Reply

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

