So I guess you’re all wondering…

What it is I’m actually doing here  in Brazil, aside from discovering my roots, witnessing God’s glory, and butchering a new language.

Well…

Every morning, I walk 10 minutes down my road to get to school–saying hello along the way to the guinea hens in the construction lot, the dog that hates my guts (thankfully, kept behind an iron fence), and, of course, the owl family that lives on the school campus.

That’s me with Mr. Hootie X Archimedes and Mrs. Peekaboo Glimfeather Pythagoras in the background.

I have a few different roles to play at the Couto school here in Anapolis. By morning, I teach six American missionary students (4th to 11th grade) in a program that keeps them current with the American school system.

Establishing rules for the elementary grades.

Studying up on high school material

But by afternoon, I teach English language to Brazilian students (5th to 9th grade).

The sunglasses indicate my alter ego–the ESL teacher

Some of these Brazilian students have visited America with their families. Others are just excited for the opportunity to learn the language from native speakers. Several of them do not know any English, which makes things extra interesting in the classroom, since I don’t know enough Portuguese to communicate effectively. Fortunately, the school has been gracious enough to give me a translator to help with that.

I’m three months into Brazil and things are starting to settle into a groove. God has spoiled me with good friends who take care of me in every way. The only thing I can’t seem to get is a drop of rain. But I hear rumors that soon I’ll be drowning in it. Last night I bought an umbrella and am checking the skies anxiously for any sign of moisture. It’s coming, I can feel it…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Macey
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 14:20:21

    This was a fun and informative letter to read. Who came up with the names for the owls?

    Reply

  2. Jacki
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 19:54:19

    It was a combination of ideas from my mom and a friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

INSTA.RAMS

Here we get lit for literature.

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

