The Bem-te-vi

Every morning in Brazil, afternoon and evening still,

While I go about my work at the school not far from me

Everywhere I hear a cry from a bird that’s flying by

Always the same cry from a bird saying, “Bem-tev-i!”

Through a chorus of strange birds comes the one saying “Bem-te-vi!”

Cheerfully saying “Bem-te-vi!”

Every time I hear that cry, my mother’s voice comes from inside

Saying the name of the bird that sings to me

Though many birds may sing Brazil, the Bem-te-vi sings just to me

And when I see it flying free, or sitting in a nearby tree

My mother’s voice will find me to say it’s name “Bem-te-vi!”

I hear her say “Bem-te-vi!”

picture courtesy of Wikipedia

I have a renewed appreciation for Edgar Allen Poe. And there’s no way in hell I’m writing 16 more stanzas.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katarzyna00
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:27:18

    Oh Jacki, that was wonderful! I’m so slow though, I didn’t realize it was a poem until half way through it!! hahahaha

    Date: Thu, 30 Aug 2012 23:03:50 +0000 To: k-beltz@hotmail.com

    Reply

  2. Jacki
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:36:09

    Well, darn, I was really hoping that the incessant repetition and rhyming would give it away sooner than that. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

