A Frog Jumped Out of the Toilet

After two days in Rio, we flew to the country’s interior. This land is very different. The people here are farmers and ranchers. Things move a little bit slower. By the time we reached my mom’s childhood village of Taunay, we were driving on dirt roads and dodging cows.

 

My mom had warned us before we came that Taunay was cold in the winter time (which is now because it’s the opposite of America), but she didn’t emphasize that enough. My brother and I were thinking it’d be sweater weather. It was more like long-johns and scarf weather.

The night we arrived, our hosts gave us each two warm blankets to keep us warm.

We slept in my Uncle Larry’s old house. The house is spacious and comfortable. The people are so kind and the food is plenty and good. But the toilets… well, they’re not what I’m used to.

We have indoor plumbing, but it’s too weak to deal with toilet paper. So, used toilet paper has to be thrown in a trash bin. Jordan says he’s done this before in Ghana. “You’ll get used to it,” he says. I guess I have, but it’s still not my favorite thing. It’s one of those small inconveniences that everyone forgot to warn me about. The first time I flushed the toilet a tree frog jumped out.

The next day was Sunday and after our hosts saw us shivering in church, they gave us each a heavier jacket. That night, when they found out I was sick with a cold that I had picked up from one of the 4 airplanes (or maybe one of the 4 airports) that I was in, they brought me another, heavier blanket to sleep with and a handmade scarf to wrap around my head.

Monday was warm. Tuesday was warmer. Today it’s hot. Apparently, winter comes in pieces.

I’m standing on the downtown strip of Taunay–right next to the biggest store in town.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SimplySage
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 22:29:30

    Hi Jackie.
    I’m Katie’s mom and I have a wordpress blog, too. Thought I’d let you know. I’ll follow you and maybe you’d like to follow me.
    http://www.simplysage.org
    Peace,
    Alexandria

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

