May Update

I’ve been going through my checklists of things that have to be done before I can leave for Brazil:

Passport… check

immunizations… ugh check

raising support… God is providing and I am overjoyed to see the love you guys have for me!

Visas… well, we’re working on it. Without going into details which I’m still a little fuzzy on, there’s been some hang ups about getting a work visa for Brazil. Nothing that would stop it from happening, but a few hoops that make the whole process longer.

I am not a worrying type of person. I’ve learned to let go of control and rest on the fact that God takes care of everything (Matt 6:25-34). I’ve also learned that when people say “God exists outside of time and space” what they mean is that He doesn’t own a watch or calendar. So the fact that I’m less than 8 weeks away from leaving and I still don’t have a visa (or tickets because I’m waiting on my visa) doesn’t surprise me or unnerve me. Even though God doesn’t work on my schedule, He never lets me down. I’m simply concerning myself with the things that I know I can (and need) to do.

I will ask that you all please pray with me about this. I trust that God is working everything out, but He does ask us to be a part of His work through prayer. So please pray with me that God will provide my visa in time for me to leave at the beginning of July.

If I miss the beginning of July I will not be able to visit the village that my mother was raised in. This year they are having a big celebration of 100 years of missionary work. I was hoping to be there for that and see the place that my mother grew up.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diveinscripture
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 20:40:44

    Im brazilian! Where are you going in Brazil?

    I would suggest:
    Thin clothing – It is very hot and humid.
    Lots of bug sprays (I forget what their called but it keeps bugs away).
    Eat everything that is new to you. Especially all the fruit!

    DiveinScripture.com
    Grow in Grace and knowledge.

    Reply

    • Jacki
      Jun 27, 2012 @ 21:52:41

      I will be visiting many places in Brazil in the month of July. I think we arrive in Rio, first. I don’t have my itinerary in front of me, but I believe we then go to Campo Grande and Cuiaba. At some point we will visit Iguassu Falls and the Terena tribe (I can’t remember the name of the village we will be in). My mother grew up with the Terena tribe. After July, I will be stationed in Anapolis for a little under a year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

INSTA.RAMS

Here we get lit for literature.

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

