Our God is a Rich God

I’ve seen a few jaw drops when I tell people how much money I will need for my stay in Brazil. If you put it all together, I’ll need about $21,000 for the year (conservatively speaking). Asking people to give me $21,000 isn’t pleasant. Who has that kind of money to give away? And why would they? But I’m not asking people to give me money. I’m asking God.

Today, while praying, I remembered something that one of my One7 students said. Those girls taught me as much as I taught them. I started writing down a lot of the things that they said. This is what Khon told some volunteers one day in class: “It doesn’t matter if you got no money because God has all the money in the world and he takes care of you. God is awesome like that.” Or as Tri put it, “Our God is a rich god. He can have whatever he wants.”

Man, I’m gonna miss those girls. I sincerely hope and pray that God will bring me back to them one day. But for now, He has told me to go.

I’ve asked for Him to provide, but money doesn’t rain down from Heaven. God has already given us the things that we need on this earth. What’s so cool is that when we ask, He points it out. And through my asking and other people’s giving, God not only provides for everyone AND sends us where we need to go, but also grows us into the Christ-bearers that we are called to be. God is awesome like that! 

The One7 Girls:

Me, Gretchen, Khon, Chinh, MC

Maryan, Tri, Kiet (who eventually learned to smile), Gina

Leave a Reply

INSTA.RAMS

Here we get lit for literature.

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Supporting Bible translation through teaching

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

