Seahorses and Cnidarians (NaPoWriMo)

Her eyes peeked out from within the veil
Of coral tentacles at the edge of the shelf.
I could just make out her lovely tail
Which curled elegantly around a stalk.
 
My jellyfish friend descended lightly
Where the current hit the coral reef.
To his fellow cnidarian, he waved politely;
The coral answered in rhythm with the waves of the sea.
 
I picked myself up from where I had been sinking
Deep into his soft, balloon-like skin
and slid down his side, carefully avoiding
His stinging barbs, which he swayed away from me.
 
I saw her lacy fin shivering between the stalks
And I shambled over to meet her.
Swimming was more difficult than I thought
It had been so long since I had bothered.
 
My thin little fin barely held me upright
While my nose pulled me down like an anchor.
From a short ways away, I could hear her delight
Though, I think it was more of amusement.
 
I puffed myself up as big as I could
Full of joy to finally see another.
She came out to greet me where I stood
And blushed into my same colors.
 
My jellyfish friends couldn’t stay any longer
The current was picking up again.
But I knew that I couldn’t leave her
She meant more than a new best friend.
 
With a twinge of sadness, I nodded goodbye
To the jellyfish drifting off.
My time with them, I wouldn’t wish to modify.
But a new chapter in my life just began.
 
Seahorse Love
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SimplySage
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 13:36:02

    Jacki, your metaphorical poetry glimpses into the life of the sea world both fascinate and bring a smile to the face. (How can I ever forget that octopus poem?) And now, another. Nicely done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

SimplySage

... increasing your joy

Confident Writing

Free Your Words

Muse Writer

harmonious volcabulary to substitute for the cacophony of life

The Queen Creative

The Business of Art & Absurdity.

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

simeonharrar

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Pansy Watching

"Look at them pansies, just a-doin' their thing."- Grandma Jo

Leah Rigsby

Papua New Guinea...wait, where's that again?

FoodBabbles

**...Keeping Life Sweet

arcaneblog

Dealing with being kind of crazy.

The Scrumptious Pumpkin

transforming organic, fresh, whole ingredients into easy, everyday delicious dishes

One7 Academy

Believe the impossible...then, you will see me ~God

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

